live chat The Thoughtful Christian Logo
Resources for Christians and seekers
The Liturgical Year

The Spiraling Adventure of the Spiritual Life - The Ancient Practices Series

1-2 days processing
Thomas Nelson Publishers
Publication Date:
Trim Size
5 x 8
Product Type:

A journey of the soul through the map of Christian time.

The liturgical year, beginning on the first Sunday of Advent and carrying through the following November, is the year that sets out to attune the life of the Christian to the life of Jesus, the Christ.

What may at first seem to be simply an arbitrary arrangement of ancient holy days, or liturgical seasons, this book explains their essential relationship to one another and their ongoing meaning to us today. It is an excursion into life from the Christian perspective, from the viewpoint of those who set out not only to follow Jesus but to live and think as Jesus did.

And it proposes to help us to year after year immerse ourselves into the sense and substance of the Christian life until, eventually, we become what we say we are-followers of Jesus all the way to the heart of God. It is an adventure in human growth; it is an exercise in spiritual ripening.

Joan Chittister is a best-selling author and well-known lecturer. She works to promote justice and equality in both the church and the secular world. She is the author of thirty books, including Called to Question: A Spiritual Memoir and Scarred by Struggle, Transformed by Hope.

The Gift of Years
Growing Older Grac...
Joan Chittister
List Price $13.95
Sale Price $10.46
Add to Cart
The Liturgical Yea...
The Spiraling Adve...
by Thomas Nelson Publishers
comments powered by Disqus
List Price: $12.99
Sale Price:
$9.74 - 25% off